GFWAR Celebrates Members at the Annual Awards Luncheon

The Greater Fort Worth Association of REALTORS® (GFWAR) recognized four members for their significant contributions to the Association and Fort Worth’s real estate industry at its recent Awards Luncheon. The honorees include:

  • Michael Langford, Orr Real Estate | Charles McMillan REALTOR® of the Year Award
  • Joelene Slocum, Williams Trew Real Estate | Marie and Dayton Sheridan REALTOR® Spirit Award
  • Alex Krus, Rattikin Title Company | Affiliate of the Year Award
  • Elizabeth McCoy, Williams Trew Real Estate | A.L. Purvis Distinguished Service Award

GFWAR is so incredibly fortunate to have a membership that is eager to give back and serve their professional and personal communities,” said Suzanne Westrum, GFWAR CEO. “These four recipients exemplify the best of our membership as time after time they have shown their dedication to the advancement of our Association and the betterment of the real estate industry as a whole.”

The member who receives the Charles McMillan REALTOR® of the Year Award is one whose contributions have made a significant impact on GFWAR, the real estate profession, and the Fort Worth community. The 2023 REALTOR® of the Year Award was presented to Michael Langford of Orr Real Estate. A third generation REALTOR®, Langford knew early on the key to a fulfilling career was to give back to his professional community. As a past president of GFWAR, Langford has been an active member for over a decade, serving on committees or in leadership with the Board of Directors. During that time, he has also served in leadership positions for the National Association of REALTORS®, Texas REALTORS® and the Society of Commercial REALTORS®. He has spent the last two years as a presidential appointee to the Board of Directors, where his expertise has been an invaluable asset.

The Marie and Dayton Sheridan REALTOR® Spirit Award recognizes the member whose joy and enthusiasm for their work inspires their peers to answer the call. Joelene Slocum of Williams Trew Real Estate received the 2023 REALTOR® Spirit Award. Known for going above and beyond to ensure all feel welcome and included, Slocum is a mainstay at GFWAR events where she is always volunteering to lend a hand. Slocum is an eager and detail-oriented partner in service to her industry, both as a member of the Board of Directors and in committees including Business After Hours, Installation, and Governmental Affairs. Outside of GFWAR, Slocum is an active member of her community, volunteering her time for those in need and serving the East Parker County Chamber of Commerce and the Rotary Club of Aledo.

The recipient of the Affiliate of the Year Award is a member who has continually worked to build a strong partnership between REALTOR® and affiliate members and has positively contributed to the success of GFWAR. Receiving the 2023 Affiliate of the Year Award is Alex Krus of Rattikin Title Company. During his time as an affiliate member of GFWAR, Krus has become a cornerstone of the organization. He dives into everything he does with enthusiasm and passion, serving on the Community Outreach, Diversity & Inclusion, Season of Giving, Business After Hours, and Young Professionals Network committees. He goes the extra mile to help each committee achieve its goals, and shares all of his talents – including those from his theatre background – in support of the Association and the real estate community.

The A.L. Purvis Distinguished Service Award is presented to a member who has made a lasting impact on Fort Worth’s real estate industry, including prolonged and distinguished service to both GFWAR and their community. Elizabeth McCoy of Williams Trew Real Estate was named the 2023 Distinguished Service Award recipient. McCoy led GFWAR as Board President in 2021, helping the Association navigate through the recovery from the pandemic and revolutionizing how GFWAR served its members. Having been a member of GFWAR for more than 20 years, McCoy has served on numerous committees including TREPAC, Season of Giving, and Governmental Affairs, and led the CEO Search Task Force in 2023. McCoy serves in leadership roles at the National Association of REALTORS® and recently received the Texas REATORS® Spirit of TREPAC Award.

l to r: Michael Langford, Joelene Slocum, Alex Krus, and Elizabeth McCoy
No items found.